# **Decision Summary**

**Committee:** Licensing and Safety Committee

Date: 22 May 2013 Committee Clerk: Adrian Johnson Tel: 01484 221000

#### Chair

Councillor Mumtaz Hussain

### **Councillors Attended**

Tony Brice, Jim Dodds, Steve Hall, Derek John Hardcastle, Andrew L Palfreeman, Hilary S Richards, David Ridgway, Phil Scott, Christine M L Smith, Mohan S Sokhal, Amanda L Stubley, Elaine Ward

### 1. Admission of the public

Most debates take place in public. This only changes when there is a need to consider certain issues, for instance, commercially sensitive information or details concerning an individual. You will be told at this point whether there are any items on the Agenda which are to be discussed in private.

**Decision:** That the business be considered in public.

#### **MATTER FOR DECISION**

## 2. Appointment of the Licensing Panel and Regulatory Panel

To appoint the Licensing Panel and Regulatory Panel for the ensuing year and the Chair(s) thereof.

Members are informed that it is proposed that arrangements for representation of Political Groups on the Panels should NOT be in accordance with the requirements of Section 15 and 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989 but for Membership of the Panels to be drawn from the Membership of the Licensing and Safety Committee.

This Notice is given in accordance with Section 17 of the 1989 Act and Regulation 20 of the Local Government (Committee and Political Groups) Regulations 1990. The proposal will require approval with no Members of the Council voting against.

### **Decision:**

That a Licensing Panel and a Regulatory Panel be appointed for the ensuing Municipal Year, that the representation of Political Groups on these Panels should not be in accordance with the requirements of Section 15 and 16 of the Local Government and Housing Act 1989, but that the membership of the Panels be drawn from the membership of the Licensing and Safety Committee, and that the Chair of each Panel be Councillor Mumtaz Hussain, as Chair of Licensing and Safety Committee.